City of Menlo Park Government     

The City of Menlo Park operates under the council-manager form of government. The City Council appoints the City Manager and City Attorney as well as members of a variety of commissions and committees. City departments that report to the City Manager include Administrative Services, the Office of Economic Development, Community Development, Community Services, Library, Police, and Public Works.

Visit the Menlo Park City website at for information about City services, programs, projects, events, meetings, policies and volunteer opportunities.

City Hall Offices
Police Department
Menlo Park Fire Protection District
Main Library
Arrillaga Family Recreation Center



Menlo Park City Council

The City Council is the City’s five-member governing body. Its members are elected at-large to four-year overlapping terms in general municipal elections. The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem (vice mayor) are selected to one-year terms by the Council at its first meeting in December of each year. The Mayor, serves as the presiding officer of the City Council and signs enacting ordinances and contracts. Menlo Park’s City Council members serve part-time, retaining their positions in private industry, personal enterprise, business or the professions.
Learn more


City Commissions & Committees

Menlo Park welcomes and encourages residents’ active participation through serving on a Commission or Committee.  Commissions examine issues of community interest and make recommendations to the City Council on policy matters.  The City of Menlo Park currently has eight active advisory bodies: the Bicycle Commission, the Environmental Quality Commission, the Finance and Audit Committee, the Housing Commission, the Library Commission, the Parks and Recreation Commission, the Planning Commission and the Transportation Commission.
Learn More